2024 Irish Open To Kick Off In March With €1M GTD Main Event

2024 Irish Open To Kick Off In March With €1M GTD Main Event

Irish Poker OpenSummary:

The 2024 Irish Open kicks off on March 25 at the Royal Dublin Society in Dublin
The schedule includes a €1 million-guaranteed Main Event and a brand-new Mini Irish Open
Irish Open is Europe’s oldest tournament, with the inaugural event held in 1980

The official schedule for the 2024 Irish Open has finally been released.

The latest edition of the popular tournament series which takes place near the UK runs from March 25 to April 1 at the Royal Dublin Society in Ballsbridge, Dublin. The festival culminates in the €1,150 buy-in Irish Open Main Event which offers €1 million in guarantees.

2024 Irish Open – Key Details & Highlights

The 2024 Irish Open, sponsored by PokerStars and Paddy Power Poker, gets underway on March 25 with three opening events, beginning with a €350 buy-in six-handed No-Limit Hold’em tournament.

A brand-new event, the Mini Irish Open, has been added to the mix, featuring a €500,000 guarantee for a buy-in of only €200. This event has nine starting flights and players are allowed unlimited re-entries. The tournament also kicks off on the opening day and will crown its winner on April 1.

The festival’s main attraction is easily the Irish Open Main Event which costs €1,150 to enter and comes with at least €1 million in guaranteed prize money. The tournament kicks off on March 27 and features four Day 1 flights. Players may only re-enter once per flight.

Players may enter the Main Event for a more affordable price via live satellites running at the venue, with a total of 50 seats up for grabs. Online satellites are also available both at PokerStars and Paddy Power Poker.

In 2022, the Main Event attracted a total of 2,491 entries, with over 600 of them securing their seats online. That huge field generated a massive €2,428,725 prize pool, more than double the €1 million guarantee. In the end, it was David Docherty who emerged as the champion, taking home the trophy and €365,000 in top prize. It was a huge victory for Docherty who qualified for the event via a €109 satellite on PokerStars.

Previous Irish Open Main Event Winners

The Irish Open made its debut in 1980, with the inaugural Main Event won by Colette Doherty. Dozens of champions have been crowned since then, including James Mitchell who claimed the title in 2010 for €600,000, the largest Irish Open Main Event top prize so far.

Docherty is the reigning champ, having won the tournament last year. Other recent winners include Steve O’Dwyer (2022), Pavel Veksler (2021), Pablo Silva (2020), Weijie Zheng (2019), Ryan Mandara (2018), Griffin Benger (2017), Dan Wilson (2016) and Ioannis Triantafyllakis (2015).

Author: Kenneth Reed